International Beacon Satellite Symposium 2016



The Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics



26 June - 1 July 2016 Miramare, Trieste



Unprecedented Attendance!

199 Attendees from 48 Countries

Algeria, Argentina, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Peoples Republic of China, Cameroon, Croatia, Cuba, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Islamic Republic of Iran, Italy, Cote d'Ivoire, Japan, Kenya Malaysia, Nepal, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Palestine, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Rwanda, South Africa, Spain, Sri Lanka, Thailand, Turkey, Uganda, United Kingdom, Ukraine, United Republic of Tanzania, United States of America

Thanks to generosity of our sponsors, approximately 70 participants from developing countries received some level of scholarship to defray the cost of their participation.

Paper Acceptance was Competitive

Over 248 abstracts submitted. Accepted 118 Oral Presentations and 65 Posters.

Paper and Presentation Qualities were Impressive



(CTP)



- 181



Thank you once again to the: Scientific Organizing Committee

For the design and organization of the topics for this symposium. **Session Chairs**

Inspiring leaders in their field made grand efforts for successful sessions.

Local Organizing Committee and Chairs

For their welcome hospitality and tireless support before, during (and after) the symposium

Professor Radicella, Bruno Nava, Pandora Malchose,

Katy Alazo and Yenca Migoya-Orue, Stanka Tanaskovic

Sponsors

ICTP, Boston College, URSI, UNOOSA, NSF, NASA, AFOSR and EGU





We thank the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics for their gracious and generous support as hosts of this symposium.





On behalf of the Beacon Satellite Studies Group of URSI Commission G

To ICTP With grateful appreciation for hosting the 19th International Beacon Satellite Symposium 27 June – 1 July 2016



YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARDS

These awards were selected from the poster presentations.

Candidates were limited by age (<40)

Criteria:

- Design
- Presentation
- Relevance to this Symposium

Judges:

- Poster session chairs
- Oral session chairs

Thank you to poster chairs: Katy Alazo, Yenca Migoya-Orue and Gopi Seemala







BEST PRESENTATION AWARDS (1)

Space and Ground Based TEC and Measurements: **Mamoru Yamamoto** for Realtime three-dimensional tomography of the ionosphere ove Japan based on the GEONET GPS-TEC

Irregularities and Scintillation Measurements and Effects: Irina Zakharenkova for GPS measurements onboard SWARM satellits to study occurrence of the equatorial irregularities in the topside ionosphere.

Polar (high-latitude) Effects on GNSS: Alan Wood, Modeling plasma structures in the high latitude ionosphere.

Theory and Modeling of Ionospheric Scintillation and Irregularities: Charles Carrano for Constrained and Unconstrained Power Law Irregularity Models for Interpreting Strong Scintillation Data

Monitoring Natural Hazards, **Elivra Astafyeva** for New in Ionosheric Seismology: Recent Advances in the Space Detection of Earthquakes, Tsunamis and Volcano Eruptions





BEST PRESENTATION AWARDS (2)

Data Assimilation Modeling: **David Minkwitz** for 3D kriging of the ionosphere based on maximum likelihood and restricted maximum likelihood estimation of a non-stationary covariance model.

Advances in Ionosphere-Thermosphere Modeling and the Challenge of Validation: **Sean Elvidge** for A Community Wide Ionosphere/Thermosphere Modeling Test

Radio Occultation Technologies and Measurements: **Tian Mao**, First ionospheric radio occultation measurements from GNSS Occultation Sounder on the Chinese Fend Yin 3C Satellite

Ionospheric Effects on Satellite Based Navigation Systems: Oladipo Emmanuel Abe for Assessment Study of Ionosphere Threat:Model using Multi-Shell Algorithm Approach over Sub-Saharan African Region

Space Weather Effects:





Papers will be made available on the Boston College website: http://isrconferences.bc.edu/beacon/

If you do not wish to have your presentation available, please let us know very soon.

A Special Issue of Radio Science is planned: Information will be sent to all participants. Deadline for submission is October 1, 2016

Radio Science Bulletin:







Beacon Satellite Studies Group URSI Commission G

Founded in 1972 and led for many years by:

Chair: Dr. Reinhart Leitinger, Austria Mr. Jack Klobuchar, USA Dr. P.V.S. Rama Rao, India



Current Leadership: Chair: Patricia Doherty, USA Mr. Bruno Nava, Italy Dr. Andrzej Krankowski, Poland





Lindau 1970

Graz 1972

Moscow 1974

Π



Bath 2013





Boston 2007



Trieste 2004



Boston 2001



Sopron 1997





Boston 1976

Firenze 1978







Miramare Castle, Trieste, Italy



Warsaw 1980



New Delhi 1983



Oulu 1986



Beijing 1988



Tucuman 1990

Boston 1992



Lindau 1970



Trieste, Italy



Bath 2013

Beacon Satellite SYMPOSIUM 2019





Boston 2007



Trieste 2004



Boston 2001



OLSZTYN, POLAND

University of Warmia and Mazury



Moscow 1974



Boston 1976



Firenze 1978







Sopron 1997



Aberystwyth 1994



Boston 1992



Warsaw 1980



New Delhi 1983



Oulu 1986







Beijing 1988

Tucuman 1990



Thanks to all of you for your interest and participation in the

19th International Beacon Satellite Symposium 2016!

Hope to see you in Poland in 2019.

Miramare Castle Trieste, Italy



Mirow Castle Oltszyn, Poland